The Legal Immigrants have been together since 2009 and are comprised of four band members. Joe Bockheim, on vocals and guitar, is the main songwriter of the band. His influences range from Led Zeppelin and the Beatles to Jack White, Beck, and David Bowie. Trevor Reidsma, on lead guitar brings in classic leads a la Keith Richards, with a twang of the more “out there” styles such as Frank Zappa. The rhythm section of the band is represented by, Tony Lubenow on drums, and Stefan Schwartz on bass. These two have significant experience playing together in a variety of styles, and lay down a great foundation on which the rest of the band is built.

Since the formation of the band, TLI have played with the likes of (in no particular order) Blind Melon, Rusted Root, Sugar Ray, Night Ranger, Jefferson Starship, and many more.